An Explanation, Apology, Question, and a Quote

October 6, 2008 at 11:50 pm 1 comment

Hey readers,

So, I know I said I was going to blog about each day at Mondragón. However, unfortunately, my first night there my computer’s hard-drive collapsed and I lost everything on it. Needless to say, I didn’t really have access to the internet often – and I was kind of preoccupied with dealing with that crisis. I’m sorry for that, though.

Regardless, Mondragón was an amazing and a life-altering experience. Because I was not able to post about it nightly, I’m going to write one large report back and discussion of the Mondragón, education, and worker-cooperative experience – and the links Mondragón draws between workplace-democracy and learning place-democracy.

Additionally, I’m going to be doing something a little different with this blog from here on out: instead of posting small-posts on a regular basis, I’m going to begin writing much longer and more in-depth ones with more time in between their submission. While this means that there will be less activity on this blog, it also means that there will be much more content in each discussion. However, I will still be posting other occasional short discussions and learning-tools and activities in between.

Now, this leads me to the question: are you interested in having something posted at or writing something for the Adventures in Free Schooling blog? It can be about anything you please: a discussion, an argument, a history, a workshop, a curriculum, a personal story, and etc. I’d love to expand this site beyond primarily my voice. If you are interested, send an e-mail to: brian AT freeschooling DOT org – and let me know.

And to hold you over for now, here is a quote from Don José María Arizmendiarrieta, founder of the Mondragón cooperative experience:

Knowledge is power.

Knowledge must be socialized so that power can be democratized.

After the socialization of culture, inevitably follows the socialization of wealth and even of power. We may say that this is the indispensable and prior condition for the democratization and socioeconomic progress of a people.

Entry filed under: Related To Free Schooling. Tags: , , , , , .

Mondragón and Education Read “The Underground History of American Education” Online and For Free

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lydia  |  October 7, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    Great quote!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

RSS Feed

Help Support Adventures in Free Schooling


